Keyboard Warriors

The term “keyboard warrior” was first introduced to me when I was on a forum for some video game or something like that. It was used to describe someone who was being extremely opinionated and in some cases acting cocky. As old as I am now, I am still realizing how important being a keyboard warrior is and that the ability to become one is neglected through the many internet users out there. Being able to voice your opinion strongly is something that I feel that people should be allowed to do especially when sending an important message. The MENA use internet blogging in a very professional and useful way to spread awareness of important news. Thinking of this reminds me how I can use internet differently or efficiently to contribute to a discussion in someway.

Bassell Khartabil’s arrest was shocking because something so masterful also got him in trouble. His contribution by his excellent works like Wikipedia and Firefox were platforms that helped people network with each other. However, it’s not all safe for Arabic bloggers due to the heavy laws of censorship. Recently, I read about the UN and how they made the internet a human right and it doesn’t seem like that in Arab countries.

Another problem in a different scale about the internet is in debate right now here in the United States. Recently, I learned about net neutrality and how we as internet consumers are getting gypped of our right to the internet. Net neutrality is the term that describes the internet being an open space without any applications or websites being prioritized nor hidden by the ISPs themselves. The reason why I thought of this while reading the article is because I net neutrality could definitely be an issue the MENA might be facing without them knowing it because guess who controls the internet service providers there? Probably the government.

2 thoughts on “Keyboard Warriors

  1. Being able to voice your opinion is so important but perhaps all of us should do more. The articles for tomorrow’s post talk about how tweeting or posting on Facebook is not enough. That we need to actually do something. It reminded me of the bystander effect. I see so many likes and retweets about protests and boycotts that I think even if only half of the people responding to this hashtag or post were to actually do something, there would be change. But a number of people who actually do more than online activism are so small. I know for me it’s sort of like a helplessness, I have no political efficacy. If I were to join a protest the next day the news would be showing how a group destroyed property instead of the importance of the protests.

    Like

  2. I cannot imagine how hard it must be to try to access the sites we surf freely here in the US. Having that kind of restriction in this day and age is like losing arms and legs – we stay connected to the world and we learn so much with the help of the internet. Its really scary that net neutrality might be in danger now, its bad enough with the surveillance issues, but taking away free access is definitely an even bigger violation to our rights. Digital activism and specifically the open source movement is more important than ever now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

