Digital Youth

Coming from a perspective where I choose not to/hardly participate in social media (no snap chat, twitter, Instagram, work forces me to have Facebook though), I particularly thought that the two readings were really intriguing in a sense that social media can be used as an invaluable tool to give social movements momentum. It’s simple to see this fact though, especially in cases such as how the youth in Egypt used social media platforms to give WAAKS momentum. I think it was rather surprising how the Ali and Sharnouby article explained how Egypt youth were seen as a burden rather than the “future hope” for the country –it all became rather ironic when it was the youth movement which drove the January revolution– its just strange to me how the whole country seemed to underestimate that particular demographic. If it weren’t for the presence of social media though, it would have proved to be very difficult for the young Egyptians to gain momentum in connecting the masses to see the police brutality occurring.

One term that particularly struck me within the “Distorting Digital Citizenship” article was the term “Digital Youth,” I have never heard this term before, and it took a lot of thought to decide what the term was insinuating. It wasn’t until after reading the introduction of “Social Media Revolutions,” by Wolfgang Danspeckgruber that I had a better idea on the topic. One quote that had the strongest impression on the idea of “digital youth,” was the what Danspeckgruber said “ Social media has given young leaders a unique voice…the new forms of interaction facilitated by social media hold the power to shake the very foundations of government itself” (3). This made me consider the fact that if I don’t participate in social media, does that make me socially irresponsible? I choose to not participate because I am a little unsettled by the idea of a “global village” (Marshall McLuhan); I have a long explanation for this. Still pondering this question probably until we discuss it.

2 thoughts on “Digital Youth

  1. I think it is very interesting that you choose not to be a part of social media. I don’t think I have met anyone, especially at our age, who would make that decision. Sorry for getting personal, but I don’t think your choice is socially irresponsible. The internet, as proven by WAAKS, is definitely a very powerful tool for mobilisation but it is not the only one. This is also true for the youth that may not have chosen but simply does not have the privilege to access social media – where would they stand ?

    Like

  2. I think the most interesting idea about social media was brought up in Tuesday’s lecture about social media’s ability to capture the attention of the youth but its failure in maintaining a movement and organizing a plan for actually changing what needs to be changed. Until youth can find some way to marry social media movements with some type of legislation and planning, more We are all Khaled Said movements are destined to fizzle out I fear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

